Journeys: Geneva

Geneva has one synonym in my mind – global. It truly is a global city, being home to the UN, the Red Cross and operating as a hugely important financial centre. It certainly feels like a vibrant city at times, but there’s something about the Lake that reins this all in.

I feel like no one ever takes photos this side of the Lake because it hasn't got the Jet d'Eau. But I liked the silver and gold of the sky that evening.
I feel like no one ever takes photos this side of the Lake because it hasn’t got the Jet d’Eau. But I liked the silver and gold of the sky that evening.

I watched the water one afternoon and got lost in thought, and after a while I realised I had completely forgotten where I was (no, not literally!). It felt as if all the cars, suits and tourists (guilty!) had been toned down to the faintest whisper. I have never felt so out-of-city whilst being in a city.

I'm obsessed with taking photos of flowers. I honestly have no idea why...but here we are :P
I’m obsessed with taking photos of flowers. I honestly have no idea why…but here we are 😛

The gallery above shows my favourite thing about this city – these little lights among the cobblestone. In the daylight the lights don’t shine so they look like ordinary stones, but at night they light up all across the square. Not only that, but each one has the words “welcome”, “thank you” or “see you soon” in a range of different languages. What a brilliant idea – merci Genève! 

See. More flowers. I told you!

Let me know what you're thinking!

