Final Frost

It’s 2015! Isn’t that crazy? To me, that’s crazy. Although I have this reaction every year so I think the point is moot. Either way, in the last few days of 2014, I got up early enough to catch the frost before it melted.

It was one of those perfectly crisp cold days, where the sky was just a deep clear blue. Perfection in other words.

Everything that could be coated in a thin layer of frost, was. I’ve always felt that frost was snow’s underrated sibling. Snow is magical – it has this ability to completely transform houses, streets, even whole cities with just a few inches. Frost on the other hand, is what forces us to wake up half an hour earlier, in order to scrape it off our windshields. It makes us grumble.

Yet, when I stepped onto the frozen grass and heard the soft crunch of ice under my feet, I was surprised by how beautiful everything looked. There’s an elegance that comes with the lightness of frost that snow fails to capture.


I would like to thank everyone who has supported The Photographer’s Apprentice so far, it means so very much. Wishing you all a very Happy New Year and looking forward to sharing more photographs in 2015!

Let me know what you're thinking!

